Skip to content

Pinchy – a story of two meals – Part 1

October 26, 2010
tags:

Time to interrupt Japan posts for something else!

Pinchy
Meet Pinchy

My friend Beanie’s boyfriend Brett is a competitive spearfisher. Her parents are thrilled, because it means there’s always a steady supply of freshly caught seafood at her house 🙂

When she showed me a photo of the 2 lobsters he caught for her last Valentine’s Day (who needs chocolate right?) – I mentioned that I’d never really eaten lobster. Not properly anyway. Not unless you count a traumatic experience at a family wedding banquet involving chunks of lobster drowned in a bucketful of fat-free mayonaise, topped with FRUIT… which I definitely do not.
And ever since then, Brett and Beanie promised me a lobster the next time he managed to catch one.

And on Saturday – he came through!! Pinchy was delivered to me in a little blue esky:

DSC_6418.jpg
Esky

DSC_6417.jpg
Checking him out. Please do note that Pinchy’s little lobster soul is already enjoying life in the big fish-tank in the sky at this point

My mum got really excited when I told her the news. I went home and pored over some recipes online – having never cooked shellfish before in my life! Beanie and Brett both suggested grilling as the tastiest option. I went with Beanie’s suggestion of a butter baste and garlic for one half, and butter, garlic and paprika for the other half!

Pinchy
I had to get my dad to cut him in half

Pinchy
Clean cut!

Meanwhile I roughly chopped some garlic cloves, and melted the butter
Pinchy
Melted butter and garlic

Pinchy
Paprika & Garlic, and Parsley & Garlic

Into the oven he goes:
Pinchy

I ended up cooking him under the grill for a bit over 15 mins, until the meat was just opaque.

Pinchy
Delicious!

Pinchy
The table

It was so good! So sweet and tender. Thanks so much Brett & Beanie! I could get used to this….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:15 pm

    I’m glad you liked it!

    Sorta made up too for you missing out on the pig buns, both male and female 🙂
    Next adventure will involve esky (of course) ice, prawn nets, lights and possibly a bbq / beers…

    • November 3, 2010 9:11 pm

      Thanks so muchhhhh! It was soo good. I will have to show Jason all the photos when he comes back, to make him jealous.

      Yes! Prawning sounds so good. It’s a (double) date!

Trackbacks

  1. Pinchy – a story of two meals – Part 2 « Crunchy Tiger

Leave a Reply

