Skip to content

[Recipe] Easy Sourdough Pancakes

August 29, 2012

Sourdough Pancakes
Sourdough pancakes – Ultra lazy version

I’ve been baking sourdough bread pretty regularly these days! I’ve got a routine going. Thursday I’ll start ramping up my starter feeding schedule, so that it’ll be ready to mix on Friday night or Saturday morning (wooo… paaaarty hard! that’s me!).

Though I love having freshly baked bread every week, the serious downside to maintaining a sourdough starter is the sheer amount of wastage that goes into feeding the darn thing. Unless you’re actually bakery, or one of those insane people who bake every day, it’s inevitable that a lot of starter will get discarded to keep it at a manageable weight. As a result, I’ve thrown out a lot of flour & water over the past few months, and it doesn’t feel great!

Luckily, bakers are a pretty resourceful lot, and I’ve been reading up on some useful ways of using up that discarded starter. So far my favourite (and my family’s favourite) way is to make huge stacks of sourdough pancakes!

They’re a really easy way to impress. The pancakes are fluffier and airier than your average pancakes, have a chewier texture, and a lightly sour flavour (not quite as strong as sourdough bread).


Sourdough Pancakes
Sourdough pancakes topped with yoghurt and fresh strawberries

It’s a pretty simple recipe! Like all sourdough-related recipes, it does take a bit of planning and prep. If I’m planning on having pancakes for Sunday breakfast, I’ll mix up a batch before I go to bed on Saturday night, and leave it to rest overnight. It’s a great recipe for lazy weekends!

This recipe also comes in an Ultra Lazy Edition. If I’m ultra lazy, I’ll skip the overnight wait altogether, and use a bit of bicarb soda to help it along. You won’t get as full a sourdough flavour, and the pancakes won’t be quite as fluffy, but they are still pretty great.

Sourdough Pancakes
Sourdough pancakes – overnight version. Uglier, but more delicious!

The fun part about this recipe is that it doesn’t require any rising agent to become so fluffy! It gets it all from the starter. It’s also the reason why you need to give it a bit of time to recover after you whisk the eggs in. If you’re in a hurry, skip to my Ultra Lazy Edition notes at the bottom of the page – and it’ll give you some tips on adding bicarb soda to give it more oomph.

Sourdough Pancakes
What my pancake batter looks like the next morning. Bubbly!

Sourdough Pancakes
BUBBLES!

I’ve been trying out different toppings too (ie. whatever is in the fridge on Sunday morning). Fresh fruit is always a winner for me, though lately I’ve taken to grilling bananas lightly in a frying pan with a little bit of butter. Yum!

Sourdough Pancakes
Banana slices with salted caramel sauce

DSC_0699.jpg
Grilled bananas topped with shredded coconut and honey

Sourdough Pancakes
My boyfriend on the other hand prefers them savoury! Fried on top of fried.

Sourdough Pancakes (makes approx 14 pancakes)

The night before – mix these ingredients together in a BIG bowl (best to use a plastic mixing bowl otherwise the acid in the starter can react funnily to metal bowls overnight):

1 cup unfed sourdough starter
2 cups water
2 1/2 cups flour (I like to use a mix of wholemeal and plain flour, but it’s up to you)

Cover with clingwrap and leave overnight at room temp (I leave it on top of my fridge). The mixture will expand a lot!

The next morning –
Whisk in:

3 eggs beaten with 1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp of salt (adjust to taste)

As always, sourdough recipes vary a bit depending on the state of your starter. My starter has a high water content, so that’s the ratio that worked for me. If your batter is too thick, you can add a bit of milk at this stage to thin the mixture out. You want a thick pancake batter consistency though, not crepe.

Leave mixture for 1 hour to recover. Once it’s become bubbly again…

Heat up your pan and coat very lightly with butter. Fry pancakes!

BONUS! ULTRA LAZY EDITION aka hangover Sunday version:
Proceed as normal, but skip the overnight wait. Instead, when your pan is just about ready to go… mix 1 tsp of bicarb with 1 tsp of water in a small bowl. Stir that into your mixture. It should react with the acidity and start to bubble (yay chemistry!). Once the mixture is all nice and bubbly…

IT’S PANCAKE TIME!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 2:03 am

    They look so good, love the griddle marks in the pancakes too!

    • September 3, 2012 10:07 pm

      Thanks! Haha yeah it’s from the circulon frying pan! makes fun circles

  2. August 30, 2012 9:21 am

    This is great Crunchy Tiger. I am a once a week sourdough baker also and the waste is not good. I have always wanted to do pancakes, this has given me a place to start. Might be good for Fathers Day breakfast. Your pancakes look delicious and your photos are beautiful as always 🙂

    • September 3, 2012 10:08 pm

      Thanks so much Jane! I saw on twitter you made pancakes on the weekend 🙂 Hope they went well for Fathers Day!

  3. August 30, 2012 4:12 pm

    Wow check out how fluffy those pancakes are! I think I want a sourdough starter just so I can make these hehe

    • September 3, 2012 10:09 pm

      I love how fluffy they get! That 2nd tower was ultra precarious… nearly fell over a couple of times when I tried to move it!

  4. grabyourfork permalink
    August 31, 2012 11:36 am

    Gah I want sourdough pancakes! With bacon and banana and maple syrup!

  5. August 31, 2012 4:26 pm

    Oh I love pancakes. I used to make them with my mum when I was little and we’d devour them with a squeeze of lemon and some sugar

    • September 3, 2012 10:10 pm

      Yum me too!! I remember we made pikelets in primary school class one day and ate them like that too. delicious!

  6. September 4, 2012 1:18 pm

    Sourdough pancakes!? Sign me up! Those sound and look so delicious!

  7. September 4, 2012 3:15 pm

    These look delicious! My Dad was telling me about a cafe that makes sourdough pancakes and I could not think of how they were made – I also really love the extra lazy edition… heheheh

  8. September 6, 2012 11:04 am

    Sourdough pancakes!! Ooo wish I could try one right now! They sound delicious.

  9. MsBrulee (Kelly) permalink
    September 10, 2012 6:00 pm

    Thank you for this clever little tip and good on you for finding out ways to use up food that would otherwise have been thrown out, I\’ll be looking forwards to more posts

    xx MsBrulee

  10. September 16, 2012 10:51 pm

    im a savoury gal as well 🙂

  11. September 18, 2012 9:49 pm

    These are some supreme pancakes! Um, salted caramel sauce…hello!!

  12. September 21, 2012 6:27 am

    Just arrived here via The Shady Baker. Excellent idea for stopping sourdough starter going to waste – your pancakes look divine.

  13. October 10, 2012 2:34 pm

    These look delish!! Love the pictures too 🙂

  14. January 20, 2017 9:09 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on meta_keyword. Regards

  15. September 4, 2017 10:56 pm

    You should be incredibly proud of yourself. Nice read.

  16. January 21, 2018 12:29 am

    I delight in what youve got suitable right here, adore what youre stating as well as way you say it. You make it entertaining and you even now manage to aid hold it wise.

Leave a comment