Skip to content

Haigh’s Giant Chocolate Frog

January 7, 2010

Well it’s not Christmas anymore! So I can show you what I bought my boyfriend as part of his Christmas present.

Haigh's Chocolate Frog
Haigh’s Super Frog – Milk Chocolate

I’ve been staring at these frogs every time I pass by the Haigh’s store in the Strand Arcade. They are so shiny and… giant!

The Haigh’s frogs come in three sizes, small, midi and SUPER! And in three flavours too, milk chocolate (gold foil), dark chocolate (dark brown foil), and mint! (tree frog-green foil!)

Haigh’s around Christmas time is crazy. It’s a tiny little store, and it’s always packed to the brim with last-minute shoppers. They even hire door men to stand outside and make sure the shop doesn’t get out of control. People line up outside! It’s so nuts. People really love their chocolate!!!

But I can see why it’s so popular. According to their signage, Haigh’s is the oldest family-owned chocolate manufacturing retailer in Australia, and it’s clear are keen to maintain tradition through their attentive retail experience.

The servers wear white coats and stand behind a big glass cabinet of beautiful looking hand-made chocolates. To my DELIGHT – they give you taste-testing samples with your purchase! (Rum truffle was on offer the day I went) I couldn’t believe it when the people next to me declined a sampling. Free chocolate! Are you crazy! Give it to me!

Haigh's om nom
Chocolate om nom

I think he liked it…!

Haigh’s Chocolates
Shop 1, The Strand Arcade
412 – 414 George Street
Sydney
NSW 2000

Ph: (02) 9221 6999
Fax: (02) 9221 8922
email: strand@haighs.com.au

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 2:57 pm

    I love your blog. “Adventures in Om Nom” Instant win.

    You should really tell your boyfriend to take off the gold wrapping. 😛

    I love Haigh’s chocolates. Its one of the few places where I can get cocoa chocolate that just melts in your mouth – its so heavenly.

Leave a comment