Skip to content

Osaka – 02

October 24, 2010

I can’t say we had many plans in Osaka, we only had 3 nights there. But in the end it was so much more fun than I’d imagined – mostly thanks to our old uni friend J – who moved to Japan for the japanese girls change in culture.

Before meeting up with him, we checked out all the usual touristy things:

Umeda sky building
Umeda Sky Building

View from the top
View from the top

This thing is controlled by your butt
Inside the Umeda Sky Building, there was this strange little pod area – with a round projection, and glowing seats. The projections are controlled by your butt! The shapes move along with the pressure on the seats. Pretty funny watching a bunch of salary-men giggling as they bopped up and down on these plastic seats.

We had lunch in the little Takimi-kōji alleyway underneath the tower – it’s like a little recreation of an olden day street – filled with tiny izakayas and ramen shops.

Lunchy
Lunch being prepared!

Karaage
Karaage lunch set from Takimi-kōji alleyway

After lunch, we went to visit my greatest love…. YODOBASHI CAMERA!

We mostly spent time on the toy level:

Kamehameha
Kame-ha-me-ha!

Trying to steal dis
Trying to steal dis

I don't know what this is but I like it!
I don’t know what this is, but I like it

I did manage to buy a camera too…!
New toys

I bought the mini 25 cheki fuji instax camera! It’s an instant camera, like Polaroid, they’re still in business! (and from the looks of it, business is cracking!) I think the main point of difference between the two, is that the batteries in the instax system are in the camera, instead of inside the film packs. This makes the film a lot cheaper to manufacture!

I’ve been wanting one of these for FOREVER, and I promised myself it would be the first thing I bought in Japan. It comes in a Hello Kitty version too, but I ended up saving money and just getting it in plain white. Instead I spent money buying Hello Kitty film!

Hellooooo Kittyyyy

Afterwards, we spent some time hanging out in Dotonbori.

Dotombori
I dig the old neon signs

Osaka
Dotonbori river

Hat!
Rilakkuma!

DSC_1210.jpg

We took a twilight cruise down the river – it was in one of the coupon books we had. Pretty cheesy hey! But it was great fun. The buildings surrounding the Dotonbori river are so colourful, growing even more so as the neon lights began to turn on.

Our tour guide was an incredibly enthusiastic safari-helmet wearing character – who was incredibly unfazed by the fact that pretty much no one on the boat understood Japanese. He tried as hard as he could to explain the Osakan bridge history to us in English, before giving up and parroting his entire rote-learned script in Japanese.

DSC_1211.jpg
Good time to check out the local architecture! I love all the narrow buildings.

DSC_1196.jpg
There was an odd moment when our tour guide got Jason to “shoot” a local takoyaki store with a giant bazooka-like object. The Takoyaki octopus started to smoke and flash when “hit”. I have a feeling it was all part of a complicated kick-back scheme. When we left the boat – we were told our tickets entitled us to a discount at that restaurant haha.

… tbc.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt beresford permalink
    October 25, 2010 5:33 pm

    wow, glad jason could pull off a killer lazer attack on the dragon ballz dragon. What an epic adventure melly!

  2. March 20, 2011 1:26 pm

    Hey, Can you tell me how much did you buy your instax camera for?

    • March 21, 2011 5:19 pm

      Hi! It was 8980 yen. 9980 yen gets you the Hello Kitty decal on it.

Leave a Reply

