Skip to content

Black Star Pastry

August 3, 2010

Black Star Pastry

On Sunday I headed down to the Dendy in Newtown to catch the Banksy doco, “Exit Through the Gift Shop”

If you haven’t seen it yet, go go go! It’s been out for a few weeks now, but you should still be able to catch it at the Dendy or Chauvel. Even if you’re not a fan of street art, or even art itself – it’s a great movie. As I should have expected, Banksy definitely keeps you guessing. It definitely didn’t end up being what I thought it would be. Being marketed as the Banksy Movie… I expected it to be a movie about Banksy! Such folly, I know. But I can definitely verify that it’s as funny as hell.

For those of you who’ve seen it (everyone else shield your eyes):

DO YOU THINK IT’S REAL? Are Banksy and Shepard Fairey in cahoots and pulling a giant prank on us all?

I am so conflicted! The way it plays out is so incredibly perfect, and with such bitingly hilarious irony that I just have to doubt the veracity. It’s just too perfect! Or would that lessen the hilarity of it all? In some ways I guess I don’t want to know for sure! It’d ruin it maybe.

Oh Banksy. Youuuu.

So after the movie, we definitely needed somewhere comfy to park our butts and discuss. Preferably with cake!

Black Star Pastry
Espresso machine loves Benny

So we headed down to Black Star Pastry, which I’d heard a lot of great things about, but had never visited. It’s a really cute place, with little Starck Gnome stools out the front, and nice wooden interiors. It looks neat and friendly. The people behind the counters smile and chat to familiar locals as they pop in for baguettes for tonight’s dinners, and cups of coffee.

I know what I’m here for though. The Watermelon, Strawberry and Rose cake, and my head gets a little giddy when I spot 2 slices left in the cabinet.

Black Star Pastry
Watermelon, Strawberry and Rose dacquoise cake

I love rosepetal as a flavour. My mother would beg to differ. She thinks it reminds her too much of soap. I kind of get that, but I just love the fragrance of it. (My favourite Passionflower icecream flavour is definitely Lychee and Rosepetal.)

The rose flavour in this cake is lovely and subtle. And it just tastes so so fresh and light! There’s a slice of fresh watermelon in the centre, surrounded by rose cream and layers of almond dacquoise (nut meringue) which gives it such a nice crunchy texture (I love crunch!). And on top – fresh strawberries.

I may have found one of my favourite cakes. I DUNO. It may be up there with Adriano Zumbo’s Passionfruit tart. It is definitely one of the prettiest I’ve eaten!

Black Star Pastry
Chai Brulée

My friend orders the Chai Brulée from the glass cabinet – which promptly gets sprinkled with sugar and set alight in front of our eyes. Woohoo! I’m sad I didn’t get a photo though. It tasted amazing though! And served in a shallow dish like a great brulée should be! (more sugar topping woo!)

5 minutes later, the dish is scraped clean.

Black Star Pastry
Chocolate and Hazelnut torte

Now this is intense. So intense your spoon will barely make a dent in it. It had to be knocked on its side before it could be conquered and devoured. DELICIOUS! Definitely for chocoholics.

To go with this, I’ve got a Rooibos Blood Orange tea which comes in a nifty steeping/drinking device.
Black Star Pastry
Rooibos Blood Orange tea.

Black Star Pastry
Pretty flat white heart

Awesomely satisfying Sunday.

Exit Through the Gift Shop is showing at Dendy Newtown and Paddington Chauvel.

Black Star Pastry
277 Australia St,
Newtown NSW 2042
Ph: (02) 9557 8656‎
Open Tues-Sun: 7am – 5pm

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 11:39 pm

    woah that watermelon strawberry and rose cake looks so beautiful! and teehee i spy jabs!

    • August 3, 2010 11:53 pm

      It took me a really long time to stick my fork into it. It looked so beautiful ;_; But I guess that’s what photos are for nom nom!!

      Hahahah yes! I made him mind my seat while I bought my cakes hehehh so he had to line up afterwards >_>

  2. August 3, 2010 11:56 pm

    Ooh pretty pink cake! It looks really light and fruity, definitely something I’d want to eat 🙂 And I have to agree with you on the shallow dish for brulee thing, it’s all about the toffee!

    • August 7, 2010 12:05 pm

      so true. I was so impressed when they set the brulée on fire right in front of us!! Fresh toffee! The best!

  3. August 4, 2010 4:34 am

    I just had a taste of the cake selection here last weekend and I can’t wait to go back!

    • August 7, 2010 12:04 pm

      same here!! so much other stuff to try! It really makes me wish I was a local!

  4. August 4, 2010 7:36 pm

    their watermelon cake is pretty good isn’t it. one of my favs i think that they make. the chai brulee sounds great though. i’ll have to try this one next time. 🙂

    • August 7, 2010 12:03 pm

      there’s so much other stuff there that I want to try… but I have a suspicion that i’ll probably order the same cake again. >_>

  5. August 5, 2010 2:58 pm

    def want to try watermelon strawberry

    mhh… so pink my fav colour =)

    watch out newtown here i comeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

    • August 7, 2010 12:03 pm

      it is so pink! so pretty 🙂 definitely go try it!

  6. August 9, 2010 10:35 pm

    Oh my goodness, Watermelon Strawberry and Rose Cake? I dont think I would be giddy, I think I might faint! Lovely pics again melly, well done 🙂

  7. August 11, 2010 11:44 am

    Black Star is AMAZING… it is without a doubt in my top 5 Pastry cafes in Sydney.

    • August 12, 2010 10:55 pm

      What else is in your top 5? I’d love to know 🙂 always on the lookout for other good patisseries!

Leave a comment