Skip to content

Adriano Zumbo

July 27, 2010

DSC_9887.jpg

I can’t wait until Winter ends, and I suspect that everyone in Sydney feels the same way.

And also like me, the rest of Sydney apparently decided to celebrate last last weekend’s fab weather by standing in the Adriano Zumbo line in Balmain (massive cameras in tow, as readers of Chocolatesuze will have heard 😉 ). At least that’s how it felt as we merrily joined the massive concourse of people clogging up Darling St.

DSC_9844.jpg

Definitely the Masterchef effect. I have to confess I hadn’t been back to the Patisserie for quite a while now, so to see evidence of its tremendously growing popularity was incredible! On the plus side, that tiny store is definitely easy to spot now that there’s constant swarm of people in front of it!

The line moved pretty slowly, as people took their time to pick and choose, but it was reassuring to see trays of fresh cakes being ferried in by slightly harried looking workers. No one would be leaving empty handed!

DSC_9848.jpg
Quiches – I must try the one with Blueberries in it next time!

When we finally make it inside the hallowed corridor, it takes a little while to be served. Fine with me! Takes the pressure off having to choose straight away!

DSC_9853.jpg
oooh yeah

Can I just say HOW LOVELY the staff at Adriano Zumbo always are?? Even with the crazy relentless line, and crazy cramped conditions, they are just always so nice and so patient!! I can’t imagine how many times they have to recite the macaron flavours a day, but they really make every customer’s visit feel like a special event.

So what did I buy?

DSC_9873.jpg

Ok so basically the reason for my Zumbo visit was that due to some recent macaron mishaps, I felt I needed to study more 😉 So of course I bought 10 macarons (and the girl behind the counter was kind enough to put them in a little cardboard box for me)

I also got a Wheely Wemon because I’m an absolute sucker for lemon curd, and J bought the spectacular looking Ginger Fear:

DSC_9855.jpg

DSC_9862.jpg

DSC_9866.jpg
We also got a few savoury things for lunch: Spicy Lamb and Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll, and a beef and vegetable meat pie, and took everything down to Gladstone Park to eat – which by the way, was lovely and almost entirely distracted me from the fact that the Chocolate Cafe around the corner has now closed down and I’ll never be able to sit in there with the cool red chandelier again 😦

Here is a photo of the cool red chandelier to jog your memory:
chandelier
Cool red chandelier, you will be missed

DSC_9877.jpg
Preciousss

So hard to pick a favourite macaron. They were all so different! The flavours that day were: Crunchy custard, liquorice, rose petal, vanilla, dark chocolate, finger bun, passionfruit, coconut.
Usually the macaron selection reminds me a bit of Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans – but the selection that day were… dare I say it… a bit normal!

Liquorice was a flavour I was a little bit scared of, but though it definitely had a strong liquorice aroma, but the bitterness wasn’t strong at all. I quite liked it!

But I have to say my favourites were probably:

Finger Bun – it really tasted like a Finger bun! Rationally I know that a Finger Bun is essentially it’s strawberry flavoured icing and coconut, but it really brought to mind the Finger Buns I used to get from Vina Bakehouse after gymnastics class when I was a kid!

Passionfruit – because I lied when I said I am a sucker for lemon curd, I’m actually a sucker for anything a bit acidy. Those lolly Warheads? Bring them on. I would eat them by the jarful if I didn’t think they’d burn a hole in my stomach.

Chocolate – SOOO good. The texture of this macaron was so different to the others. It wasn’t light and airy like the other macarons, it was dense and chewy in an incredibly satisfying way.

Ok I better stop before I end up listing them all.

ps. let me just mention that Crunchy Custard had pop rocks in it!
pps. pop rocks are seriously underrated.
ppps. rose petal was really good too.

DSC_9882.jpg
Finger Bun Macaron

Adriano Zumbo Patissier
296 Darling Street
Balmain NSW 2040

ph: (02) 9810 7318

Opening Hours
Monday to Saturday 8am – 6pm
Sunday 8am – 4pm
(PS. Get there EARLY!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 12:20 am

    heh heh how can you resist NOT taking a photo of zumbos crazy awesome creations! the wheely wemon sounds fantastic i love anything with kalamansi!

  2. July 27, 2010 12:23 am

    When I read that girl’s comment I burst out laughing because I was so sure she was talking about me!!

    Proud of it!

  3. July 27, 2010 1:15 pm

    Some enterprising young guys in Sydney are doing some awesome macarons – they’re as good as Pierre Herme or Laduree! http://www.facebook.com/Makmakaron/

  4. July 27, 2010 4:36 pm

    Oh, love the sound of ‘ginger fear’! I always have such a hard time choosing what to order from there cause everything looks so good!

    • August 3, 2010 11:48 pm

      I know!! And the worst thing ever is ordering envy!! I was greedy this time with the macarons and basically got one (or two) of everything to save me from choosing heheehee

  5. July 28, 2010 12:25 am

    The Ginger Fear sounds awesome. And you’re right, I love it when there’s a huge queue because yes, then you get more time to choose!

    • August 3, 2010 11:49 pm

      So true! And honestly the longer I get to stand in that hallowed narrow little room, the happier I get! I would stay there longer if they let me hehe. So many beautiful delicious cakes to look at.

  6. July 31, 2010 7:07 pm

    haha, the other week my bf and I were driving through Balmain and thought, ‘Hey, we’ll swing by Zumbo since he’s on the way’ – Just as he turned into a street opposite Zumbo I said ‘no way! Check out that line’ – that masterchef!!! Tip my hat off to him though and his crazy creations!

    • August 3, 2010 11:51 pm

      I know! The line was so crazy long! I have a friend who works in Balmain and she says it’s like that almost every day! Really happy he’s getting the recognition he deserves though!

Leave a Reply

