Skip to content

Citisuper Crepes

June 24, 2011

(Update July 2011 – I’m very sad to report that the creperie has now changed hands….. crunchy Taiwanese crepes no more! They’ve been replaced by disappointingly average cream-and-fruit filled soft crepe concoctions. Damn. Crunchy crepes we hardly knew ye!! )

DSC_8789.jpg

A few years ago, when I used to work in St Leonards – I developed the most efficient route from Elizabeth St busstop to Town Hall platform imaginable. It took me a few months to develop – down to which platform staircase I’d take, to which streets I could jaywalk safely… er. I mean… which streets I would wait at the crosswalks patiently for the lights to turn green at. Yes.

Anyway. Part of my super duper efficient route was to take the escalator inside the HSBC centre on Bathurst St, down through the strange little arcade of hodgepodge shops. There was a newsagent, a florist, a cafe, a laundromat – all surrounding what I always imagined to be the saddest Coles supermarket imaginable (dark and tiny – and one block away from the shining behemoth that is the Woolworths flagship store on Liverpool St).

It’d been ages since I’d been back there. But then a few months ago, my friend Zay and I were passing through on the way to Town Hall when we noticed the new Asian supermarket that’d opened in its place.

Turns out the saddest Coles on earth finally shuffled off this mortal coil, to be replaced by a shiny new CitiSuper Asian Grocery store. Not exciting news in itself, except for the fact that they have a DESSERT BAR!

DSC_8792.jpg

AND THEY SELL CREPES! Ridiculously cheap crepes, at $3 each ($3.5 for ‘premium fillings’ like cheese and Nutella). The crepes are made fresh on order, folded up and given to you in a handy cardboard holder (train snack, anyone?).

That tunnel smells so good now. They also sell Hontou pancakes – with redbean, green tea, cheese, chocolate or matcha filling:

IMG_2308.jpg
Hontou pancakes

The first time we passed by, Zay and I actually did a legitimate double-take – both stopping at the same time and mentally willing each other to go back for pancakes.

This is why we are friends.

DSC_8790.jpg

Things to know about Crepes:

  • According to the nice boy manning the counter – these are Taiwanese crepes. He says the difference between these and French/Japanese style crepes is that they are cooked until crispy, and have a hard crunchy texture.
  • They kind of taste like a giant fortune cookie.
  • They are delicious
  • You can order half flavours. Zay is partial to half-chocolate, half-coffee
  • More people order half-cheese half-chocolate than you would imagine

    Pretty good value I think! I’ll definitely stop by next time I get a train at Town Hall.

    CitiSuper Dessert Bar by Teamo
    580 George St (HSBC Centre)
    Shop LG 09, Lower Ground Level
    Opening Hours: Mon – Fri 6.00am – 10.00pm, Sat – Sun 8.00am – 10.00pm

  • 6 Comments leave one →
    1. June 24, 2011 10:57 am

      TW represent yoooo! Must check this outs, havent had crepes in a long time

    2. June 24, 2011 4:59 pm

      zomg! super duper cheap crepes!! how do they compare with mother crepes in world sq?

      • June 24, 2011 5:05 pm

        Well the guy at the counter mentioned the Mother Crepes in World Sq when we were talking to him actually! Like he said, those are Japanese style – so they’re softer, and filled with cream. These are crispy, and with much simpler filling.

        I haven’t tried Mother Crepes – but if they’re like ones in Japan (which I have tried), I think I like these simpler ones more – but then, I like crunchy stuff (>_> hence the name……….).
        I find the cream filled ones a bit full on!

    3. June 30, 2011 7:58 pm

      Yum! That’s where my doctor’s is and I noticed the change a couple of weeks ago but was in a rush so didn’t gawk or have a chance to try. Love tge sound of the crunchy pancakes! PS I think the underground walkway stretches all the way between where George St cinemas are and Pitt St mall, so it’s perfect for when it’s pouring!

    4. Everyone deserves to know the truth permalink
      July 8, 2013 2:14 pm

      Gross , their dink had cockroach in them, me and my husband found one as we were drinking milk tea, which caused vomiting and unsettling night of sleep, followed by itchy body all over for the whole night as well as unsettling tummy..

      • Tea Lover permalink
        August 7, 2014 4:19 am

        this is absolutely impossible, we make our drinks fresh to each order! From brewing the tea leaves to adding ice, then shacking the drink to sealing the cup, there’s no way a cockroach can get into your drink without it being noticed by the staff.
        I guess you are the owner of the Easyway store across our shop…lol

    Leave a Reply

