Skip to content

Sydney Food Bloggers Xmas Picnic!

December 15, 2010

Saturday was the Sydney Food Bloggers Christmas Picnic!

DSC_7700.jpg

DSC_7710.jpg
Strawberry santas! By Ayana

After wandering around lost in Centennial Park for 1/2 an hour (tweeting feebly as my block of brie began to melt) I knew I’d found the people I was looking for when I came across a suspiciously large group of people holding large cameras, taking turns to photograph a slab of concrete festooned with plates of food.

AHA! FOOD BLOGGERS!

DSC_7692.jpg

I was wondering why I didn’t recognise more of the bloggers I’d met at the last outing – until I realised that I’d met everyone under somewhat different states of appearance haha! Under closer observation, I recognised few familiar faces, including the delightful Chocolatesuze and Grabyourfork – hostesses with the mostesses of this fine gathering.

Everybody was charged with bringing a plate – and WHOAH did they deliver:

DSC_7690.jpg
Check it outtt

I thought (somewhat correctly) that everyone would be bringing sweets, so instead I brought a few dozen slices of proscuitto from my local deli, and a rather fetching triangle of tasmanian brie. And I’m glad I did!! There’s no way I could have competed with such a delicious array of baked goods. There were homemade marshmallows, cupcakes aplenty, salted chocolate and caramel cookies, pecan tartlettes, white chocolate fried wontons, christmas tree meringues, adorable santa strawberries, red bean sweets, turkish delight…. you name it, we had it.

On the savoury side, we had curry puffs, bbq ribs, mini quiches, dumplings, smoked salmon dip, mini banh mi. I wish I could have sampled it all – it was intense!

DSC_7688.jpg
Ribs by Billy at atablefortwo – a minute after I took this photo, the crowds descended and they were all gone! So gutted I missed out on one!

DSC_7693.jpg
Gorgeous looking and tasting cheese, berry and walnut tower from Bakery Bookery

DSC_7713.jpg
Yummy smoked Salmon dip by Spotted Pufferfish (animal themed blog names rprsnt!)

DSC_7719.jpg
How cute are these little meringue christmas trees?? Spotted Pufferfish and I spent a long time eyeing these longingly until one of us got the courage to tip toe amongst the food pile to rescue them from the middle!

DSC_7699.jpg
More food!!

Right when we were all starting to get tucked into the food, I heard a gasp from the people standing behind me. Swivelling around, I was graced with this beautiful sight!!

DSC_7684.jpg
A macaron tower, coming closer and closer to me. Stuff of dreams

DSC_7704.jpg
The amazing macaron tower was made by the amazing Cleony! Make sure you check out her blog about it.

DSC_7714.jpg
Chocolatesuze breaking the ice

DSC_7718.jpg
The chocolate ganache one was so good!

After eating was blogger olympics! Numbers were pulled from a hat to determine teams.

DSC_7720.jpg
First challenge was chopsticks! Transfer 50 soybeans from one bowl to the other using chopsticks. Fiendishly difficult!

DSC_7726.jpg
Second challenge, taste test!

DSC_7731.jpg
Third challenge! Plating up – use whatever leftovers you can grab from the picnic to create a plate.

DSC_7729.jpg
Clever Melba Toast from The Adventures of Miss Piggy grabbed the rest of Cleony’s macaron tower!

DSC_7735.jpg
Final Challenge! Photography! Time to take photos of the plates from challenge number 3! iphones and twitter required!

The last part of the day was dedicated to a massive round of Kris Kringle. Everyone had brought a gift, and placed it in the pile.
DSC_7738.jpg

After drawing numbers out of a hat – we go in order… either picking a present from the pile, or stealing one from someone else who’s already drawn. Hilariously got out of hand, with the Cakewich and Ninja Gingerbread cookie cutters emerging as firm favourites of the group.

DSC_7750.jpg
The lucky final winners show off their spoils!

I went through 3 presents, not too bad! Ginger ninjas (I think everyone in the group got to hold this for at least one round!), Mango and banana cutters, which finally got stolen and replaced with matryoshka measuring spoons! Quite chuffed with my final gift! Who brought it? I’d love to thank them 🙂

DSC_7748.jpg
Spotted Pufferfish very pleased with her egg flip!

DSC_7752.jpg
Phuoc ‘n Delicious looking a bit apprehensive about her bug lollipops!

DSC_7753.jpg
Karen from Citrus and Candy looking….. intrigued by her ahem…. banana.

DSC_7755.jpg
All in all it was an amazing day! Met so many cool people, hope we all keep in touch! See you on the twitters!

Check out other people’s posts:
Chocolatesuze
Grabyourfork
Spotted Pufferfish
Angie Lives to Eat and Cook
Cook Republic
Eat My Shots
Gastronomous Anonymous
Mel’s Love of Food
I Eat Sweet
Bakery Bookery
The Heart of Food
Diary of a Food Addict

(Let me know if I missed yours!)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 12:25 am

    Awesome photos! Lol that banana is gonna haunt me for a while… *hides face in shame*

  2. December 15, 2010 12:29 am

    Ah, you were the one who brought that! Nice of you to shore up the savouries. Far too many sweets to go around.

    Not that that’s necessarily a problem 🙂

  3. December 15, 2010 3:05 am

    great to see ya again dude! and lol thanks for bringing the proscuitto i heart you so much 😀

  4. December 15, 2010 5:21 pm

    Billy’s ribs & those little strawberry santas look great!!! Sad I arrived too late to eat them v_V

    It was great to meet you btw! Thx for the post.

  5. December 15, 2010 5:49 pm

    I’m devastated I missed out on Billy’s ribs too…next year I hope he makes one for each of us.

    I thought i was pretty clever grabbing Cleony’s macaron tower too, but I hope she didn’t mind!

    I bought the measuring spoons, so glad you like them. They are VERY cute aren’t they.

  6. December 15, 2010 6:06 pm

    omg, your photography is incredible. i have camera envy.

    you missed my post.
    http://starloz.com/2010/12/11/2nd-annual-sydney-food-bloggers-xmas-picnic

    • December 19, 2010 5:41 pm

      Thanks Laura! I’ve added your blog too 🙂

  7. December 15, 2010 7:54 pm

    Glad you liked my meringues 🙂 and boy was I glad to see that prosciutto and cheese so I could take a break from all the sweets!

    • December 19, 2010 5:41 pm

      they were so cute!!

      hehe glad my proscuitto helped!!

  8. December 16, 2010 10:18 pm

    I missed out on Billy’s ribs too!
    I love the photos! It was a great idea bringing the prosciutto!!

  9. December 19, 2010 10:14 am

    I missed out on the ribs too 😦 HAHAHAH at Karen and her… banana 😉

    • December 19, 2010 5:40 pm

      she does seem to be fascinated with that…. banana! hehee

  10. December 19, 2010 5:30 pm

    Great post and pics melly! I was sorry not to be able to make it this year and catch up with the lovely bloggers from suze’s bday party. Hopefully I will be able to see you all again in the new year! Merry Christmas 🙂

  11. January 2, 2011 9:09 pm

    it was nice meeting you mel! great photos you have there. anyways happy new year!

  12. February 11, 2011 9:24 pm

    Your photos are stunning! Thnx for some nostalgia, it was an awesome day and I was so glad to relive it again through your post :-). I even saw myself in one of the photos! yayy!

Trackbacks

  1. 2nd Annual Sydney Food Bloggers Xmas Picnic | StarLoz™ | Balancing Pleasure & Health EVERYDAY in Sydney, Australia

Leave a Reply

