Skip to content

Uchi Lounge

June 16, 2010

I knew I HAD to visit Uchi Lounge as soon as my friend Althea told me about a certain cocktail they had on the menu….

Uchi Lounge
Crunchy Tiger (the photos in this post come courtesy of my friend Beanie’s camera – who kindly let me take photos when I forgot mine. Some are hers, some are mine)

Presenting the Crunchy Tiger cocktail!

I gasped when she told me! So cool!

We decided to go to Uchi Lounge with some friends on Thursday night, for a bit of a girly catch up night. I’d passed by Uchi Lounge many times during our uni days in nearby Paddington, but had never gone in. As uni students, we’d definitely preferred the homely little Japanese restaurant around the corner that was famous among COFA students for having amazing chicken katsu or gyuudon sets for $5 (which tasted infinitely better than the Yoshinoya on Oxford St. Wow. I should really hunt that restaurant down again. I hope it’s still open).

Uchi Lounge was quiet on a Thursday night. There’s a dark and moody looking sake bar downstairs, and a brighter restaurant area upstairs, which filled as the night went on. Coming from a work function, I arrived just in time for everyone to have finished eating… only to have everyone join me for second rounds. Not because they weren’t full, but because the food was so good, whoah! And as soon as the dishes started arriving, I could see why…!

Uchi Lounge serves fusion Japanese. The menu is amazingly diverse. It’s just so interesting taking the time to read the different combinations. You won’t find typical donburi here.

Uchi Lounge
Grilled Eggplant with Miso and Parmesan (Photo by Beanie)

I know a lot of japanese izakayas like to work with cheese (HELLOOO deep fried camembert at Wagaya!) – but I haven’t tried anything quite like this. This Grilled Eggplant with Miso and Parmesan is DEFINITELY the stand out dish of the night. Words cannot describe how good this is. You will just have to believe me and try it. It’s a bit like nasu dengaku, but BETTER. There’s the sweetness and salt of the miso, mixed with the sharper saltiness of the parmesan, mixed with unctuously soft eggplant. It’s unbelievable. ORDER THIS.

Uchi Lounge
Tuna Tataki with sesame crust, tomato and avocado salad

Uchi Lounge

The special we ordered was stunning also. Seared tuna slices rolled in black and white sesame with a light soy vinaigrette. So fresh and delicious, with the slight smokiness of sesame seeds.

Along with those two dishes, I also had a small bowl of organic somen noodles with grilled salmon pieces. Warm and soothing for a cold night.

Uchi Lounge
Sake sampler (Photo by Beanie)

To drink, I shared a sake tasting – 3 x 60ml glasses of our choice of flavoured sakes for $12. We chose Passionfruit, warm Strawberry and Rhubarb and Blueberry. I love the way it was presented, with handwritten notes to tell us which was which. (The Strawberry and Rhubarb one was my favourite)

After we finished eating (some of us for the second time :P), the lovely waitress asked us if we’d care to see the dessert menu. Of course… you can imagine how this ended.

Uchi Lounge
Green Tea Creme Brulee (Photo by Beanie)

J and V chose the Green Tea brulee. WOW. If I come back, I will definitely get one of these for myself. Bowls were licked clean, my friends.

Uchi Lounge
Japanese Pumpkin and Chocolate tart with vanilla icecream

In the meantime, I decided to share a slice of Japanese style Pumpkin and Chocolate pie, which was amazing too. I haven’t stopped thinking about this pie since I put this photo up on Flickr…

I really haven’t been so impressed by a restaurant for quite a while.

Uchi Lounge
15 Brisbane St
Surry Hills 2010 NSW
Ph: (02) 9261 3524

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 11:27 pm

    oh gawd i need to get me some of that cheesey eggplant nao!

    • June 17, 2010 11:54 pm

      sooo worth just going there for that alone! (though it can’t hurt to have some green tea creme brulee on the side. you know. may as well 😉 )

  2. June 17, 2010 11:48 pm

    omg cheesy nasu dengaku?!? I had never thought of that! Must tryyyyyy

    • June 17, 2010 11:56 pm

      I know! I was shamefully skeptical for a second when I read it on paper …. but nooo! it really is good!!

      should have known melted cheese makes EVERYTHING taste better!

  3. June 18, 2010 8:44 pm

    oh! So going there now! I want to try that sake sampler, and egglant! Yummo! Too many exclamation marks!

  4. July 12, 2010 2:48 pm

    Ooh, I went to Uchi Lounge last year and tried some of the same things as you! The grilled eggplant was amazing and the pumpkin tart was too!! The tuna tataki looks divine and I love the personalised note with the drinks 😀

  5. May 11, 2011 11:20 pm

    oh my..green tea creme brulee is like my fav thing on earth

Leave a Reply

