Skip to content

Chocolatesuze’s Birthday

May 31, 2010

Wow, where to begin! Saturday was the gorgeous Chocolatesuze’s giant birthday party/food blogger meetup.

DSC_9050.jpg

As a baby blogger, this was my first meet-up ever! I was looking forward to it, but also incredibly terrified. The party was school themed, and it felt exactly like the first day of school all over again! Putting on my high school uniform for the first time since high school graduation was an eerie sensation. Staring at myself in the mirror, the first thing I noticed was that it hung just as overly long and baggily as it did back in school (sorry mum, I never did grow into it!)

The second thing I noticed was that I looked about 12 years old. This feeling was thoroughly confirmed when I walked out of my room and was greeted by riotous laughter from my mother, and a slighty worried reminder that I bring my ID.

Ok… so I chickened out! I grabbed my little brother’s old boy scout uniform instead!

Jason looked great. If by great, I mean like a seedy, overgrown man-child. Which I do! He had his old Joey’s uniform complete with mysterious vintage food stains on the blazer. He had threatened to pull an Ugly Suze v2.0 earlier that morning. (YOU SHOULD ALL THANK ME THAT HE DIDN’T.)

Despite that, the bus ride on the way to the city still earned us quite a few odd glances. Overgrown man-child and his oddly feminine boy scout companion.

Nervously, I entered City Hotel, where the celebrations took place. We stickered up:

DSC_9031.jpg
The guy who tagged along with Crunchy Tiger aka UGLY SUZE

Yessss…. about that. Hilariously, quite a few people came up to Jason at the event – curious to know why he looked so familiar. Well, let’s just say that if you were lucky enough to attend Suze and Noods’ wedding, you may have witnessed a certain skit. And if you’re an avid reader of Chocolatesuze’s blog, you may have encountered some photos of him in her posts about her wedding:

ugly hairy suze
WHAT A STUNNER SHE IS! Oh and Suze looks pretty good too

I hear there is video of this spectacle, though I’m not too sure if I want to relive it πŸ˜‰

So, onto the blogger meetup! Despite my shyness, it was super awesome to be able to meet up with so many bloggers. Blogging in itself is probably quite an introverted pastime, but as quite a new blogger myself, it was so encouraging to meet so many friendly people.

Here’s just a sampling of the amazing people I met:
http://bettysbites.blogspot.com/
http://www.aamukahvinaaressa.blogspot.com/
http://atablefortwo.com.au/
http://cupcakiedolly.blogspot.com/
http://nomnomnibblies.blogspot.com/
http://the-creamy-middles.blogspot.com/
http://www.noredmeat.com/
http://penguinsaysfeedme.blogspot.com/
http://herecomesthefood.com.au/
http://grabyourfork.blogspot.com/
http://leaveroomfordessert.com/
http://www.atrueloveofmine.com/
http://sydneyshopgirl.blogspot.com/
http://thefoodblog.com.au/

phew! I hope I remembered them all! It was so great to meet you all!

whee
whee!

wow
PERFECT costume. And you should have seen his fully sick dance moves!!

gosh
So perfect it deserves a second photo

ladylike
So genteel and ladylike

ninja and suze
Ninja and Suze

DSC_9071.jpg
Having a bit too much fun with the leftover icing

mwahaha
Mwahaha

Of course it can’t be a food blogger meetup without F.U.D.S.
The food was very kindly supplied by the lovely people at Nuffnang

fuds
Yummm

WAIT! PHOTO TIME
Prerequisite photo-age

MEEEEEAAAT
MEAAAAT

But the sweetest of all was perhaps The Creamy Middles’ bling.

sweet bling
Totally Sweet!!

Happy Birthday Suze!! Thanks so much for the awesome party!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 12:15 am

    teehee awesome pics! thanks for coming dude it was great to see you and jase! oh and super thanks for the giant choc frog! mmm tastyness

  2. June 1, 2010 8:11 am

    Hurrah! What a fun night!

    I’m posting my recap later today – I hope you don’t mind if I nick that photo of mah bling for it (I’ll credit you)?

    –xo.

    • June 2, 2010 12:00 am

      yes! fun fun fun.

      of course I don’t mind!! look forward to reading your post πŸ™‚

  3. June 1, 2010 9:49 am

    great to meet you Mel xxx

    & lols @ napolean dynamite i love that movie!!

    • June 2, 2010 6:10 pm

      yay! awesome to meet you in real life Betty! Hope to see you again at a future event πŸ˜€

  4. June 2, 2010 2:05 am

    It was so great to meet you and Jason! Awesome pics… um but the Ninja’s skirt is dangerously short in that photo!! haha

    • June 2, 2010 6:09 pm

      Likewise it was great to meet you πŸ™‚ PENGUINS ARE MY FAVOURITE…!

      I know! That hemline is quite saucy!

  5. June 2, 2010 9:14 pm

    haha its was nice meeting u and “ugly suze” hahaaa

    my friend was like jason is a really nice guy..

    i guess IT and IT = friends hahaaa

  6. June 2, 2010 11:55 pm

    wow awesome photos! love the antipasta shots and the opening photo of suze with knife is super cool β€” and super scary. she looks just too comfortable with that knife doesn’t she hehe πŸ™‚

    • June 3, 2010 11:52 pm

      Thanks!! Haha I know – she looks way too happy to be wielding such a sharp instrument!!

  7. June 3, 2010 12:22 am

    Hee hee great to have met u! and finally meeting the man behind the ‘suze’ at the wedding hahah

    • June 3, 2010 11:55 pm

      Hahahaha yeah I dunno if I should be worried that he was so eager for a reprise of Ugly Suze. Luckily he did not have the wig. And you can’t be Ugly Suze without ugly wig!

  8. June 7, 2010 9:54 pm

    Hey melly, great to meet you the other day! Loved your costume and im still envious of your macarons!

  9. June 8, 2010 6:40 am

    Hey Melly,

    Love the photos! It was so much fun meeting you all! I should’ve realised I’ve seen “Suze” somewhere before!

  10. June 22, 2010 9:24 pm

    Being a baby blogger myself, I was feeling nervous at the thought of a meetup without a security blanket (aka my sister), but it turned out I had something else on that day anyway. I was very lightly relieved but when I look at everyone’s pictures I so wish I could’ve been there! Next time πŸ™‚ Love your blog, I’m inspired to start baking macarons again… Em @ The Food Rookie

    • June 28, 2010 9:17 pm

      Oh I was totally scared at first!! But you should definitely come next time – everyone was so friendly! I thought everyone would already know everyone else, and I’d be barging in – but not at all! Everyone was super keen to meet new people and make new friends πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Sydney Food Bloggers Xmas Picnic! « Crunchy Tiger

Leave a Reply

