Skip to content

Tardis Blue Blueberry and Passionfruit Pavlova

November 27, 2011

DSC_2905.jpg

I have to confess I’ve never actually made a pavlova from scratch before!

The last time I’d even thought about making a pavolva was in year 10, when I was on exchange in France. Before we left, our teachers had encouraged us to memorise a classic Australian dish to cook for our host families – and of course, what’s a more quintessentially Australian (cough cough, or New Zealand depending on who you talk to) dish than a classic pav! Of course my plan all fell to pieces once I heard my host mother mention in passing that she detested meringue. Uhoh! Oh well, their loss… I served them vegemite toast instead… (“it’s very… special” was all my host father could politely muster)

So when I heard about the food blogger pav blog hop, I knew I’d have to give it a go – if only to make up for my French pavlova that never was.

My family aren’t super sweet tooths, and I was wondering what I’d do with a whole pavlova all to myself. But luckily, the pavbloghop day coincided with the date of my friend D’s Doctor-Who-themed-30th-birthday-party! And as we were all encouraged to bring a dish, why not kill two birds with one (very delicious) stone!

Tardis Blue Pavlova

I used this recipe from The Cook & The Chef – I don’t really know why… maybe because then I can imagine Maggie Beer is looking after me over my shoulder. It was a pretty basic recipe, but I found it didn’t go into enough detail in the egg whipping stage. I’m pretty much a baking noob, and didn’t realise I had to add the sugar in bit by bit to reach hard peak… as a consequence, it took a lot longer to whip together than the recipe stated. But I got there in the end!!

Tardis Blue Pavlova

Of course the Doctor Who theme meant I had to make the pavlova blue coloured, in honour of the Tardis (Time and Relative Dimension in Space… or basically a big blue box that the Doctor travels around in). In the end I decided that a blue swirl would suffice, as I was a bit too scared to serve my friends a completely blue dessert (visions of Bridget Jones’ horrible blue dinner party soup springs to mind)

Tardis Blue Pavlova

Swirly!

Tardis Blue Pavlova

The pavlova started to crack as it baked and then cooled – I don’t mind so much, as I then I can pretend that it is “rustic”, but if you prefer no cracks, apparently running a spoon up and down the sides of the meringue to create grooves before you bake it makes the formation more stable. (check out Bizzy Lizzy’s Good Things‘ pavlova post for a beautiful non cracked and structurally sound pavlova). Too bad I only learnt that little titbit after my pav was already in the oven. Maggie Beer!! You’ve let me down…!!!

Anyway, whipped cream covers a multitude of ills. I decided to stick with the blue theme and used blueberries as toppings (plus passion-fruit because for me, a pavlova without a bit of tartness to balance out all the sugar is a deathwish!!)

Tardis Blue Pavlova

When my mum found out I was making the pavlova to take to a party, she requested I make a baby one for her to eat at home haha.

Tardis Blue Pavlova

Pretty pleased with how it turned out…!! And it seemed to go down well with D and the rest of my friends…!

Tardis Blue Pavlova

I like how the swirls run all the way through the pav!

Tardis Blue Blueberry and Passionfruit Pavlova (adapted from the Pavlova recipe at The Cook and the Chef)

Ingredients

4 egg whites
1 ½ cups caster sugar
1 teaspoon corn flour
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Blue food colouring

600ml thickened cream
For the topping:
Passionfruit
Blueberries

Method
Preheat the oven to 150˚C.

Beat the egg whites on a high speed until fluffy, about a minute (mine took a bit longer). The bowl should be clean with no grease in it, the eggs room temperature and you should be careful not to get any of the yolk in the white.

Keep the mixer on, as you slowly add the castor sugar bit by bit – making sure that the sugar is completely dissolved before you add more. If you rub a bit of the meringue mixture between your fingers, it shouldn’t be grainy. Mix until the mixture is thick and glossy with a hard peak, then beat in the corn flour, vinegar, and vanilla. Swirl in the blue food colouring.

On a baking tray lined with a sheet of baking paper, pile the meringue up high to get a marshmallowy centre or flatten it out if you prefer crusty. Make an indentation on the top for the filling.

Bake the pavlova for 50 minutes until quite firm, then turn the oven off but leave the pavlova in it to cool completely.

When you’re ready to serve, whip the cream (do not add sugar!! Believe me, there’s enough sugar in the base) – and add the passionfruit and blueberries!

ENJOY!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 9:31 pm

    Haha you made me laugh when you mentioned the blue soup form Bridget Jones. I love that movie!!!

    I love your Tardis pavlova! I used to love Dr Who when I was a child. The colour goes so well with the blueberries. Aren’t blueberries amazing at the moment?

    • November 28, 2011 12:48 pm

      Yes, blueberries are so great at the moment – and so cheap too!! I’ve been using them in everything!

  2. November 27, 2011 9:40 pm

    My friend, a massive Dr Who fan would absolutely love this! I am sending him the link now. This is fantastic and so original! Love the blue swirls too 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 12:47 pm

      oh yay! always lovely to hear about more Who fans – hope he likes it!

  3. November 27, 2011 9:43 pm

    Love the blue swirl (it looks nothing like Bridget’s blue string soup 😉 )…also you’ve acheived great height – the pav must be super marshmallowy and delicious inside! 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 12:47 pm

      hehe thank goodness for that!

      It did rise quite high in the oven! But it sank quite a bit by the time we got around to eating it… nevertheless it was still quite nice and marshmallowy inside 🙂

  4. November 27, 2011 10:05 pm

    So cute. I adore (covet, whatever) your dishes with the little blue flowers on them! Congrats on your first pav 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 12:49 pm

      Thanks!!

      They are cute aren’t they?? I got them in Japan… on that kappabashidori – the street that sells only kitchenware (AMAZING street… next time I have to go with an empty suitcase and lots of bubblewrap).

  5. November 27, 2011 10:10 pm

    Ashley – you clever thing! I love the blue swirled into this pavlova and the Doctor Who reference. And you’ve styled it all so beautifully, too.

    And I thought it was hilarious you served vegemite to your French hosts – tee hee.

    I thought about using food dye as well but thought people would balk at the idea of eating a completely coloured pavlova. Durr. What was I thinking? Coloured macarons, anyone?

    Love it. Love it. Love it.

    • November 28, 2011 4:46 pm

      Thanks Christina!! (woops… I think you have my name mixed up with Ashley from @squeewubs :))

      Hahahaaa yeah I can’t believe it too! At least they were polite enough not to spit it out.

      That’s so true! I always forget how much colouring goes into macarons… but I guess because they are so small it doesn’t seem as scary hehee

  6. November 27, 2011 10:51 pm

    Soo pretty! Love blueberries, perfect on a pav.

    • November 28, 2011 4:49 pm

      Thanks Sara! I am such a late convert to blueberries (my mum always thought they were too expensive to buy!) but they are sooo good.

  7. November 27, 2011 10:56 pm

    This looks lovely!

    • November 28, 2011 4:50 pm

      Thanks so much! Love all the baked goods on your blog – they look so yum!

  8. November 27, 2011 11:07 pm

    What a pretty pav, I love the swirl through it as well. Wonderful pics btw 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 4:28 pm

      Thanks Phuoc! Trying to be less lazy and use some of those tips from Peter’s class at eatdrinkblog hehe

  9. November 28, 2011 12:17 am

    Hi there, Peter and I love Dr Who and I think your Tardis pav is superb!

    LOL, mine did have some cracks in it, that simply happens with pavlova. But running a butter knife up the sides to form those grooves does seem to strengthen the walls of the pav. A little trick from the Women’s Weekly! I note that the photo of Bill Granger’s brown sugar pavlova had a pav that had almost caved in on itself, but, what the hey, it’s so delicious!

    Great job! I want some of yours.

    • November 28, 2011 4:33 pm

      Thanks so much!

      hehee ok that is slightly comforting to hear!! You photographed it so well, I couldn’t tell yours had cracks at all 🙂 But I must try the groove trick next time, it does look like it works!

  10. November 28, 2011 1:06 am

    i like the combination of the dark blue and sunny yellow. like night and a day… very funky! 😉

    • November 28, 2011 4:34 pm

      blue & yellow is a nice colour combo isn’t it… they just make each other pop!

  11. November 28, 2011 6:07 am

    Very clever, great pics, love it!

    • November 28, 2011 4:48 pm

      Thanks!! I think nerdish references make everything better

  12. November 28, 2011 7:58 am

    Love the colours!

  13. November 28, 2011 8:30 am

    Oooh blueeee! When I saw tardis in the title I was imagining a pav that was seemingly small on the outside but giant on the inside! Love the blue swirls. I know it’s not a flavoured pav but I’m imagining the blue swirls tasting like bubblegum 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 4:36 pm

      Hahaa wouldn’t that be amazing…. you think you’ve eaten all the pav, but there is MORE pav inside the pav. pav inception.

      And yes! I was imagining it tasting bubblegum flavoured too, for some reason. Funny brains

  14. November 28, 2011 9:10 am

    Haha love it! The blue looks so great 😀 Im totally obsessed with blueberries atm too so its perfect

    • November 28, 2011 4:36 pm

      same here…!! they are so good and so cheap at the moment

  15. November 28, 2011 10:06 am

    I actually prefer a ‘rustic’ cracked pav, nothing worse than something that looks like you got it at woolies! Yours looks great.

    • November 28, 2011 4:38 pm

      Thanks Lau! That’s true… didn’t think of that! You can definitely tell it’s homemade… let’s put it that way… 😉

  16. November 28, 2011 10:44 am

    ha – love the tardis blue. very cool. also, there’s nothing wrong with a cracked pav, infact I think it makes it a little more perfect that way 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 4:39 pm

      Haha it gave me a few heart palpitations transferring it from the box to the serving plate…. I thought it was going to cave in… but thankfully it stayed in (mostly) one piece!

  17. November 28, 2011 11:59 am

    I love it!!

    • November 28, 2011 4:40 pm

      Thanks Shellie! Love your pandan pav too~!

  18. November 28, 2011 1:45 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous! Love the blue swirl as well

  19. November 28, 2011 4:24 pm

    Cuteeeee! Now how’s about baking me something from the Momofuku Milk Bar book – I know you want to!

    • November 28, 2011 4:41 pm

      heheheee… I have to give it a proper read through! Everything has so many steps…!! Will take a look and find something achievable

  20. November 29, 2011 6:54 pm

    Gorgeous! I love the blue streaks throughout, I will have to do this next time. And blueberry and passion fruit sounds like a wonderful flavor combination!

  21. December 4, 2011 5:17 am

    Being from Aussie, but living in the states this is the one thing I miss the most. Seeing your blog on Piniterest I cannot wait to try it. Maybe without the blue, but hey my kids might love that. Yummy!!!

  22. December 7, 2011 12:56 pm

    I like a good pav and this one looks absolutely amazing!

  23. January 8, 2012 1:34 pm

    Oh, I love this! So clever, beautiful – and looks really delicious too! So much fun. 🙂

  24. January 26, 2012 6:47 pm

    Your friend is so cool, having a Dr Who themed party! And I think you’re pretty cool for getting into the spirit and making this pavlova.

Trackbacks

  1. Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey Birthday Party « crunchytiger
  2. Australian Pavlova Blog Hop: Chocolate M&M Pav Sundae with Orange Cream | A True Love of Mine
  3. Doctor Who Season Premiere Party | Three Chic Geeks

Leave a comment